Lesson #189: Information for Your Next Road Trip (A Random Law)

I love random laws. A lot. I find them awesomely entertaining. I mean, I could literally spend an entire day just reading up on strange laws.*

I love driving, so this information is absolutely useless to me. I suck at being the passenger on a road trip. I have, however, taken part in this particular law, albeit illegally.**

In Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Mississippi, Missouri, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia passengers are legally allowed to consumer alcohol.***

*I know, for example, that, in the state of Texas, it is illegal to take more than three sips  of beer while standing. I have, as you can imagine, broken this law more times than I can count. Pretty much any time I was in a bar.

**Once, on the fourth of July in the southern state I used to live in, with a bunch of friends and a sober driver. In fairness, we were breaking this law on our way out to (and back from) some back country roads to avoid breaking another law — the one that says it’s illegal to set off fireworks within the city limits of the town we lived in.

***This information can be found here.

Leave a comment