Lesson #183: Mars’ 24-hour Day

In another life, I think I was an astrophysicist. But for my horrid high school physics experience, I could have been an astrophysicist in this life.

I love space. I think it’s about the coolest thing there is. And I don’t care how geeky that makes me seem.

Randomly, and I honestly don’t remember how this came into my consciousness because pretty much all I’ve done today is go for a run, buy limeade (dear America, I love you for your limeade alone) and watch episodes of Firefly, I learned that Mars has 24 hour days.

I find this somewhat surprising given its distance from Earth (at their closest, Mars and Earth are 54.6 million kilometres apart). In reality, Mars’ days are 24 hours, 39 minutes and 35 seconds long. To give some perspective, Earth’s days are 23 hours, 56 minutes and 4 seconds.

You can look that up in a number of places. Be resourceful; find them yourselves!

Edited to add: I’m a moron sometimes. I know that the daily rotation of the planet has nothing to do with the distance from the sun. What matters is the revolution around the sun and Mars’ revolution around the sun is nearly two earth years. Thanks to a friend who works for the government and some random science dude for reminding me of this!