Lesson #366: The Long, Long Musical History of the Dies Irae

Last night, I came across this wonderful little video from the CBC. It’s a brief examination of the Dies Irae throughout the history of music. It’s delightful…and made me realize how little attention I pay to movie scores. The only one of the titles mentioned where I noticed it was The Lord of the Rings, which has a phenomenal score.*

*In fairness, I say this because I’m a fan of anything that so blatantly uses the leitmotif.

Leave a Reply

