After Harry Potter

No, it hasn’t taken me this long to get through Harry Potter. They took me about 10 days. The interim, however, has been filled with actual gainful employment, which is a nice change. Even better, it’s gainful employment that I actually really enjoy. And even better than that, I don’t have to be there at 8 in the morning. If only there were sports involved…then it would be my perfect job.

But…the style of the job is really suited to how I work. It’s a research and editing position, so I look at three or four different projects every day. And unlike with the last editing job I had where they were all governmental audit reports, they vary hugely. Today I learned about mining gold in South Africa. And about how the financial industry is changing and growing in the face of increased globalization. And a cult. I also knew where Ardnamurchan Point is specifically because I’m wired for this kind of random new things type of work. I fact check and edit everything and then I move on to the next thing and learn something else. It’s very cool.

Between the job, the trips out to see my best friend before the summer ends and we have to give up our weekends of swimming, beer and boats, the earthquake and the hurricane, it’s been a little busy. And I just haven’t quite figured out how to process these random things I’m learning at work into lessons here.

I’ll get to it.

Leave a Reply

