Lessons #262 and more: There and Back Again

I’ve returned from the best Thanksgiving ever that didn’t involve inviting complete strangers off the street in a foreign country (no lie).

I’m notorious for not really enjoying family holidays. Not because I hate my family (I don’t), but because it’s never not stressful. I was all set to just hang out at the house, make some risotto, watch football, have a beer or two and completely avoid having to spend the holiday with my local friends, but I’m really glad I got out of town.

I had a blast…then again, whenever I get to spend time with my oldest friend, there is fun involved. We hung out and goofed around and read kids books to each other before bed (again, no lie) and watched TV and ate and drank and giggled at every single sexual innuendo that was intentionally or unintentionally made, like we were 15, and goofed around some more. He had a couple of his friends from the southernmost state (where he lives) up with him and his brother had some friends round and there was a ton of food and a whole lot of laughs.

We also learned some stuff. Mostly from the marathon of ‘Pawn Stars’ we watched on Friday, but there was other stuff too. We learned that each 15 degrees  of longitude is one hour of time. And that his vouching for us having gone to high school together does not mean the waiter will bring me beer when I have accidentally left my wallet at the house. And that an authentic body for a Shelby Cobra (unfinished and literally just the shell) goes for $60k. And that the weather in the largest city in the southeast can go from 70 degrees on Thanksgiving to 45 on Black Friday.*

*Apparently, it was snowing there today.

Leave a Reply

