Lesson #235: Seven Layer Dip

I don’t think I’ve ever actually had a seven layer dip. This is surprising for a number of reasons, not the least of which is that I spent five years working in sports and was therefore present at a large number of sports viewing parties. So when the question came up on Jeopardy! today, I got the answer right* but could not name all the ingredients in a seven layer dip when I started to think about it.

I got: refried beans, ground beef, sour cream, guacamole, salsa and cheese. My only guess for the last ingredient was lettuce, and that sounds horrid.** In the end, I had to go look it up. It’s black olives. Knowing this, I find it baffling that I’ve never had seven layer dip. There is nothing about that combination of foods that is not awesome.

*It was Celebrity Jeopardy!. No offence meant to the celebrities because some of them are very bright, but a nine-year-old could win that tournament.

**In fairness, I don’t really like lettuce. It’s the most pointless food I can think of.

2 thoughts on “Lesson #235: Seven Layer Dip

  1. Laura makes her own version cheerily named, “crack dip.” No olives, no lettuce. Just cheese and salsa and more cheese and some other stuff that’s terribly for you.

Leave a Reply

