Lesson #185: A Pendulum at the Equator

I’m reading Neil DeGrasse Tyson’s Death by Black Hole and Other Cosmic Quandaries at the moment.* It has been on my list of books to get my hands on and read since it was published. Mostly, I love that he makes physics simple (well, mostly) and he’s got a wicked sense of humour.  Anyway, four years later, a copy has finally come to be in my possession.  Yay for geek reading!

Today I learned that at the equator, the plane of a pendulum does not move. This actually makes perfect sense when you think about it, but really, who goes around thinking about the movement of pendulums all day? I do not.

I also learned that Foucault was the first to devise the pendulum experiment. But I already knew that. Because I took science in school. Also because I’ve read Umberto Eco.

*You know, a little light reading.

Leave a Reply

