Lesson #174: Puffins in Flight

I went on a puffin watching tour today. This is a third time’s a charm thing because this is the third attempt in three different countries at seeing puffins. The first time, in Newfoundland, I just didn’t see any even though the time of year was right. The second time, on a road trip down the west coast of Ireland last year with four of my guy friends, we were about three weeks too early to see them. This time, I wasn’t going to miss them. I paid my 20 Euro and off I went to see some puffins.

Puffins in flight might be the most hilarious thing I’ve ever seen in my life. Puffins are kind of chubby birds. They’re cute, but a little chubby. Because of this, they have to flap their wings like crazy, just to get airborne. And sometimes they fail and end up doing this ridiculous nosedive, which is extra hilarious. Then, once they’re in the air, they have to keep flapping their wings like crazy or else they’ll fall out of the sky.

In case you’re interested, there’s a video of a puffin taking off here. Seriously, go watch it. It’ll give you a laugh.

Leave a Reply

