Lesson #124: Mahler’s Adagietto

I like Mahler’s Adagietto (from his 5th symphony) as much as the next person. It reminds me of a boy I used to love for a reason that has nothing at all to do with it supposedly being a love theme. I have never understood that piece of music as a love theme, to be honest. I find it heavy and sad. If it’s a love theme, it’s the love theme to Milan Kundera’s The Unbearable Lightness of Being, which is also very heavy (but one of my favourite books).

Anyway, I was listening to the Adagio from Khachaturian’s Spartacus, like you do at 8:30 on a Saturday morning,* and decided to go about finding out what, exactly, it is that makes people find the Adagietto so romantic. I thought perhaps I was missing some crucial understanding of the way music works. Instead, what I found, was an analysis of how it *isn’t* a love theme at all and it should be viewed in relation to the other movements of the symphony.** Especially since modern renditions of the piece slow it down to be a third longer than its original recording — no doubt to bring out the emotion of the piece.

Right, so technically, this lesson is half a cheat because mostly it just confirmed something I already suspected. But it’s interesting, so I’m going with it.

Also, while we’re on the subject of Khachaturian, can someone please tell me what movie used the waltz from the Masquerade Suite? Because I *know* I’ve heard it in a movie at some point, but I can’t put my finger on it and Google is being no help. It’s been driving me crazy for months.

*Whatever, stop judging me.

**I’m not going to lie, there’s a part of me that went “in your face, music collections!”

One thought on “Lesson #124: Mahler’s Adagietto

  1. vlad says:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XBS9nUgXLQ – maybe; no clue, not really watchin’ movies…

    regarding the adagietto – it could be love theme

Leave a Reply

