Lesson #97: Pointillism

Let me start by saying I know exactly nothing about art. I know what I like when I see it, but I couldn’t tell you why I like it. I know nothing about aesthetics or scale or depth or anything else related to art. I know that I like pointillism because it’s not just creating something linear. It’s more complex.

Pointillism was the creation of the French painter Georges Seurat (of Un dimanche après-midi à l’Île de la Grande Jatte fame) in the mid 1880s, and evolved out of the impressionist movement. The movement was termed “pointillism” by its critics, who felt it was a joke, which is why there are so few pointillist artists other than Seurat (most notably Paul Signac, whose work I find more precise and consequently less enjoyable than Seurat’s). While it may not have been taken seriously as a form of modern art, Pointillism did have an influence on Fauvism.**

*More information here, here and here.

Un dimanche après-midi à l’Île de la Grande Jatte

Leave a Reply

