Lesson #86: The Interrobang

Autobiographical note: Sorry this post is delayed. I’ve been applying to pretty much every professional job I can find that I’m even moderately qualified for. It’s been taking up a lot of my time this week. At this point, I can even remember half the jobs I’ve applied to. They’re just a string of emails sent to companies or received from companies acknowledging my application. I don’t even know which city half these jobs are in. Just that they exist and are full time.

I love the interrobang, though I almost never have a chance to use it. It is, apparently, the only punctuation mark invented in the 20th century…and it was brought about by an ad exec called Martin K. Speckter in 1962 as a way to shorten the !?* into a single character that looks like this: ‽

Merriam-Webster defines the interrobang as a punctuation mark designed for use especially at the end of an exclamatory rhetorical question.

Awesome right‽ It’s like the cool uncle of punctuation marks.**

Anyway…if you’re interested in putting it into documents, its HTML code is & # 8253 ; — minus the spaces. When I tried that the first time, it just gave me another interrobang.***

*Which I do often use in internet conversations with my friends.

**I know you know what I’m talking about. Everyone has a cool uncle. Or aunt. Whichever. I have both.

***More information can be read here and here.

Leave a Reply

