Lesson #37: A Left Turn at Albuquerque

I was talking with a college friend of mine very early this morning and the subject of Albuquerque came up and he went, “I knew I should have turned left at Albuquerque.” This was met with a blank stare. Or would have were we on the same continent.

Duly horrified by my lack of cartoon knowledge, I was then informed that it’s a running Bugs Bunny gag.

Of course it is.

So that’s it. That’s what I learned today. I learned that I have spent nearly 30 years completely unaware of the expression “I knew I should have turned left at Albuquerque” and variations thereof. Do you know how many times I could have used that?

Sigh.

Also, there is apparently a band called ‘Left Turn at Albuquerque’ which makes sense given that there are also bands called ‘Save Ferris’ and ‘Fall Out Boy’.

One thought on “Lesson #37: A Left Turn at Albuquerque

  1. Rachel says:

    Seriously? Why did you even admit this to people? I’m so mad that we’re friends.

Leave a Reply

