Lesson #10: The Roswell Commute

Relax, it’s not what you think. I’m not about to go all alien conspiracy on you, I promise.

This is going to be a short post today. I’m packing and doing laundry and cleaning up my room and other assorted things one does when one is preparing to fly 6 hours over an ocean in 18 hours.

Autobiographical note: I once drove to Roswell in the middle of the night (and got lost) and the next afternoon was subjected to a rant from a townie over a generally awful diner lunch about how Louisiana is sinking into the Gulf of Mexico. This is actually a true, scientifically proven issue, but it was one of the more confusing moments of my life. Apparently, my grandchildren are going to be sorry I didn’t write to my congressman.

Anyway…

According to the US Census Bureau, in 2006, Roswell had a population of 45,582 (of whom at least one is a little bit crazy and likes to shout at girls minding their own business in diners.) There are a whole lot of other boring statistics, but I like this one…the average commute for the people of Roswell is 16.2 minutes. The average American commute? 25.5 minutes.* For the states I’ve lived in, the average commutes in four are significantly higher than the national average, one is .1 minute under the national average and the other is three minutes below it.

Side note on New Mexico: There are 15 people for every square mile in New Mexico. The nationwide average? 79.6.

*US Census Bureau information on Roswell can be found here.

Leave a Reply

